

AUTOSPORT INTERNATIONAL BTRDA CLUBMANS RALLYCROSS CHAMPIONSHIP, ROUND 5, BLYTON PARK, 3rd OCTOBER 2021

THE PENULTIMATE round of the 2021 Autosport International BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship saw the series make its second visit of the year to Blyton Park, the threatening rain thankfully staying away for the field of around 60 cars across six different divisions.

After only attracting a solitary entry for their first visit to Blyton, the **AVO Suspension UK Modified** class saw their number increase to four this time around and the heats were split between Chris Wheeler, Jonny Chrisp and championship leader Max Weatherly. The latter made it four A Final wins out of five in his Swift to go clear at the top of the title race, while Saxo pilot Chrisp enjoyed a fine battle with Wheeler until the Fiesta succumbed to gearbox dramas late on leaving Alan Laidler (Swift) to complete the podium.

There was more hard luck for Kacper Potyra in the **Questmead/710 Oils Junior** category. The Saxo man won the first two heats while Max Watt showed no repeat of his wayward Blyton outing in the summer as he won heat three. Potyra was clear at the front in the A Final but disaster struck exiting the Hairpin for the last time as the Citroen threw a driveshaft and Owen Robbins took over to take his third A Final of the year ahead of Watt. Corey Padgett topped a fine scrap with Caitlin May for third in the Swift clean sweep, while Alfie Campbell broke the Suzuki dominance with fifth in his Lupo ahead of James Hawkes.

Dan Beattie continued his march toward another **Cooper Tires Production 4x4** title with a hat-trick of heat wins before heading home perennial rival Paul Davis in the Final, while Chris Baker rewarded his mechanics for changing his gearbox after a failure in practice by taking third place. Newcomer Joe Booth and welcome returnee Ian Flitney completed the quintet of Imprezas home.

There was an encouraging entry of Steve Gaunt Trailer Hire Pre-'95 Classic cars, including a welcome return to racing for father and son Scott and Ryan Stutchbury in their familiar 205s plus Tony Chrisp joining the field in his Nova although he would not make it past practice. John Cross's raucous Stratos replica won the first heat before Vince "Mr Sideways" Bristow took over in his BMW to take heats two and three. The B Final saw the elimination of Lee Wood's smart Mk2 Escort after repeated problems meaning he would not repeat his Pembrey success, while Helen Crooks also dropped out at this stage although she kept the lead in the Classic Mini points and is set to defend her title. There was also controversy at this stage as Scott Stutchbury collided with David Ewin putting the Fiesta Evo out of action as Tom Edmunds' Corsa raced to the win ahead of Mark Finch (Fiesta) and they joined the back of the A Final. The main event saw Bristow race his way past Cross and pull away to complete his hattrick leaving him with a clear points lead, while behind Cross the Escort Cosworth of Richard Moroney held off a train of cars for third, Ryan Stutchbury finishing on his bumper with David Attiwell (Nova), Jamie McBain (205) and Edmunds just behind, Finch a retirement.

Fred Ling had finally got the Fiesta ST150 running to its full potential in the **AS Performance Super Modified** class and defeated points leader Jason Bleasdale by a couple of seconds in heat two, the latter taking the other heats before BMW Mini man Nick Abbott led home the smart Fiesta of Nik Artley in the B Final. Come A Final time however it was a familiar story as Bleasdale rocketed the Vauxhall VX220 off the line into the lead and won by almost 12 seconds to continue his unbeaten run of A Final wins this year and keep his overall championship lead. Ling took a rather lonely second place well clear of Phil Chicken's ever-consistent C2, while Darren Bleasdale topped the BMW Mini sub-class defeating Abbott for fourth overall. Andrew Hawkes' similar machine pulled off into the paddock with a lap to go, while Artley was an early casualty and Gary Cook's Fiesta failed to make the grid.



















Overall title holder Dale Ford was fired up after a rather controversial Pembrey outing in the **SG Haulage Production** class, and proved his intent by taking a hat-trick in the heats in his Saxo. Ben Loades (C2) led home the C Final while Loughborough College man David Wappat took a well-received win over fellow Civic pilot Mike Dresser in the B Final, but the main event was all about Ford and Peugeot 106 pilot Rory Dening. The champion led off but just could not shake off the attention of Dening, the pair running inches apart side by side down the straights and into the infield hairpin in an excellent battle. It all came to a head on the final lap as Dening got the better exit from the left hander into the front straight and despite robust defending from Ford, squeezing his rival Schumacher-style towards the infield grass, Dening did not yield and kept his foot down to take the lead and a superb victory. Ford held off early season leader Harry Vaulkhard's Saxo for second with Charley Moroney in another Citroen topping a good scrap with the 106 of James Orton and James Avison's Focus, Dresser and Wappat's Civics completing the finishers with the whole field covered by just nine seconds.

With dropped scores applied ahead of the final round at Knockhill, Jason Bleasdale keeps his overall championship lead with five A Finals out of five but Junior star Robbins is just five points behind, while Dening has used the dropped score system to his advantage and is joint third overall with Bristow only a point behind Robbins. Beattie and the unlucky Potyra are next in the order, and it is certainly all to play for in the last round of the season.

See you in Scotland

Dave Goddard

















