

<u>AUTOSPORT INTERNATIONAL BTRDA CLUBMANS RALLYCROSS CHAMPIONSHIP, ROUND 2,</u> <u>BLYTON PARK, 27TH JUNE 2021</u>

ATTRITION seemed to be the byword in a number of classes as the Autosport International BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship visited Blyton Park for round two on June 27th, the series leaving the Lincolnshire venue with several cars in need of repair and two cars sharing the overall title lead.

Nowhere was the attrition more apparent than in the **AS Performance Super Modified** category. Todd Crooks' BMW Mini was the first to fall in heat one with engine issues while Abbie McGuinness's version suffered a rollover after she clipped another car. Fred Ling and Jason Bleasdale took the first two heats before Phil Chicken's Citroen C2 took the third, but Ling and fellow Fiesta pilot Gary Cook would be kept out of the A Final by engine troubles. That left just six of the original 13 entries still running to contest the main race and left Bleasdale as the hot favourite, and just as at Lydden Hill in round one the Vauxhall VX220 blasted clear for a dominant victory, finishing some 17 seconds clear of the field. Behind him, Chicken and the RWD Focus of Chris Langley fell back behind BMW Mini duo Leigh-Anne Sedgwick and Darren Bleasdale as a close battle was fought, Sedgwick retiring onto the infield two laps from home but luck was on her side as the race was red-flagged due to the approaching curfew. Sedgwick took second place on countback with Darren Bleasdale third, the finishers completed by Langley, Chicken and B Final winner Andy Pecover.

The other repeat A Final winner from Lydden Hill was **SG Haulage Production** category pacesetter Harry Vaulkhard. James Orton's Peugeot 106 had won the first heat with the Saxo of Karl Jarvis taking heat two and Hamish Gilfillan's Corsa the third, but poor results elsewhere left the latter in the B Final where he was only able to take fourth. Maciek Florczak's 106 came out on top in that stanza ahead of Charley Moroney (Saxo) but with Vaulkhard's Saxo away from the front in the A Final and Orton struggling the result was never really in doubt over a reduced distance due to time. Florczak almost caught welcome returnee Mike Dresser in the ex-Sue Lane Civic for second, while defending overall champion Dale Ford was again stuck in the pack and finished fourth ahead of Moroney, Orton, Jarvis and James Avison's Focus. Sam Noye (Saxo) meanwhile won the C Final which saw another rollover, this time Matt Read's Corsa the victim.

Kacper Potyra swept the heats in the **Questmead/710 Oils Junior Rallycross** category in his smart Saxo but would suffer similar misfortune to round one at Lydden, as a large amount of lap one pushing and shoving saw him suffer a puncture and a lost bumper which restricted him to third in the A Final. Former Ministox star Owen Robbins (Swift) celebrated his maiden A Final success to reward his team for their long trip from the south west ahead of the similar mount of Corey Padgett, while round one winner Caitlin May (Swift) led home first season newcomer Alfie Campbell's Lupo for fourth and the Swifts of a somewhat hobbled Will Ovenden, Max Watt and James Hawkes completed the finishers. Watt was dropped down a couple of spots due to a five-second track limits penalty following a very wayward performance of several excursions and spins, while Hawkes provided amusement when he fell off the edge of the back straight "yump" during the opening lap argy-bargy.

There was another clean sweep of the heats by Chris Baker in the all-Subaru **Cooper Tires Production 4x4** class, but his car sadly struggled to run in the A Final and he could only cruise round at the tail of the four-strong field. He was still able to make the podium thanks to an intercooler problem for Paul Davis's new car putting him out at half way, and it was former champion Dan Beattie who was left to take the spoils with Aaron Shaw taking a career-best second.



















The main talking point in the **Steve Gaunt Trailer Hire Pre-'95 Classic** division came in the heats when David Ewin clipped one of the notorious Blyton tyre stacks and spectacularly rolled his Fiesta Evo putting him out of the Finals, the Cumbrian thankfully unhurt. Lee Wood's stunning Escort and John Cross's equally beautiful Stratos replica had shared the heat wins and looked set to scrap for A Final success, but they reckoned without Vince Bristow who lived up to his "Mr Sideways" nickname in his BMW as always. The A Final was much the best race of the day as a great scrap developed between the three, Cross eventually pulling away to victory to make up for his Lydden disappointment while Bristow just shaded Wood for second. Behind them came the Peugeots of David Martin and James McBain, Tom Edmunds' Corsa and the lone Classic Mini entry of Helen Crooks, while Mark Finch's Fiesta succumbed to engine issues.

The new **AVO Suspension Modified** category sadly only attracted one entry to Blyton in the shape of Johnny Chrisp's Saxo, and after running combined with the Super Modifieds for the heats he was allowed to run solo for the A Final to win the category.

Fortunately there is ample time for everyone to repair the scuffs and scrapes of Lincolnshire, and hopefully another huge entry will travel to south Wales for rounds three and four on a double header weekend at Pembrey.

Dave Goddard (with additional reporting by Stephanie Wadge)















