

AUTOSPORT INTERNATIONAL BTRDA CLUBMANS RALLYCROSS CHAMPIONSHIP, ROUND 4, PEMBREY CIRCUIT, 8th AUGUST 2021

Fresh from Round Three the previous day, competitors were once again greeted by dry weather and dusty conditions for Round Four of the Autosport International BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship at Pembrey Circuit, although a few cars had not survived Saturday's action and were forced to sit the day out.

A notable absentee was defending **Steve Gaunt Trailer Hire Pre-'95 Classic** champion Marc Jones after his MR2 sustained damage on Saturday which not easily repairable. David Ewin and Mark Finch's Fiestas also didn't make it out for Sunday but happily James McBain (205) and Richard Moroney (Escort Cosworth) had repaired after their startline collision in Saturday's A Final, while Thomas Edmunds joined the action with his Corsa for Round Four but didn't make it beyond the heats. There was also the welcome addition of Jack Thorne at the wheel of a Mk2 Escort and the talented Rallycrosser took a heat win with Lee Wood in the Motaquip Escort and Vince Bristow's BMW taking the other two. The latter enjoyed a close battle in the A Final just as they had on Saturday, the pair going either side of Helen Crooks' Mini to lap her exiting the hairpin on the final tour and allowing Wood to pull away and complete a Welsh A Final double by three seconds. Thorne kept pace with the leading duo but slowed on the last lap and had to settle for third, while Moroney and David Attiwell (Nova) crossed the line three-wide with the lapped Crooks in a photo finish for fourth, the former getting the verdict. Peugeot pilots David Martin and McBain were next home ahead of welcome returnee Andy Grant (Corsa) who survived a mid-race tangle with the Escort Cosworth of Steve Pascoe who was the final finisher.

Helen Crooks' son Todd was unable to compete in the **AS Performance Super Modified** division, where still no chink appeared in the armour of Jason Bleasdale. The Vauxhall VX220 pilot once again blitzed the opening two heats and having already secured pole for the A Final sat out the third, allowing Phil Chicken to take victory in his Citroen C2. Round Three runner-up Fred Ling again suffered issues with his Fiesta ST in the heats and failed to make it as far as the A Final, where no one was able to challenge Bleasdale as he won by over 20 seconds to continue his unbeaten run in A Finals this year and increase his overall points lead. Behind, Andrew Hawkes cut past Chicken on the opening lap to take second and held it to the flag, while fellow BMW Mini pilots Bradley Turner and Steve Brown scrapped for fourth with the former coming out on top. Tomasz Wielgosz was next up in his battered Saxo ahead of the battling BMW Mini trio of Abbie McGuinness, Nick Abbott and Darren Bleasdale who was delayed by a first corner spin, while Leigh-Anne Sedgwick was a late retirement.

There was controversy in the **SG Haulage Ltd Production** division, where Maciej Florczak had secured pole with two heat wins and Rory Dening's similar Peugeot took the other. After his success on Saturday reigning overall champion Dale Ford (Saxo) was hungry for a second A Final win of the weekend and he quickly moved up to chase Florczak for the lead with Dening slotting into third, but with a couple of laps to go Ford was over-aggressive into the Paddock infield section and made contact with the rear of Florczak sending the Pole spinning into the tyre wall. Ford also spun and was clipped by Dening on his way through, but despite carrying Ford's front wing with him for the remainder of the race Dening went on for his maiden A Final victory. Ford recovered to cross the line third behind Karl Jarvis's Saxo, but was handed a ten second penalty for his contact on Florczak which dropped him down to seventh and surely out of contention to retain his title. Jarvis's second place made up for a non-finish on Saturday while Mark Henry took his best ever finish with the unique Alfa 147 in third. Sam Noye shrugged off damage from a rollover earlier in the weekend to take fifth in his Saxo behind Mike Dresser's Civic, while B Final winner Simon Corfield's 206 was next ahead of the penalised Ford, the recovered Florczak and James Avison's Focus. B Final runner up Dan Pollard meanwhile failed to finish, while erstwhile joint overall championship leader Harry Vaulkhard's Saxo didn't make it as far as the Finals before problems struck.

After his disqualification from Round Three, Mitsubishi man Bradley Sampson chose not to race in the **Cooper Tires Production 4x4** class on Sunday leaving four Subarus to battle it out. Paul Davis won two heats to Dan



















Beattie's one but the two former champions clashed on the first corner of the A Final and Davis was sent spinning. Beattie shed his front bumper but went on to take his second A Final win of the weekend – driving carefully, as he knew he had to drive the Impreza home on the road following transporter problems! Davis recovered to third behind Chris Baker with Aaron Shaw completing the finishers.

Nigel Burke's Subaru swelled the numbers in the **Cooper Tires Clubman 4x4** category, joining the trio of BMW Mini Countryman entries and Derrick Jobb's Escort. The Saturday winner took a heat win as did Burke and David Bell, but sadly Jobb failed to start the A Final leaving Martin Hawkes to hold off Bell's challenge and secure the maiden Final win for the new design. Bell, much more on the pace than on Saturday, took second ahead of the rapidly chasing Burke with the third Countryman of Adrian Turner completing the finishers.

Will Ovenden added spice to the **Questmead Ltd/710 Oils Juniors** for Sunday and promptly won the opening heat with Kacper Potyra taking the other two, and this time the Polish driver's bad luck stayed away as he led from start to finish to finally record his maiden A Final victory. Ovenden held off Max Langmaid for second in the battle of the Swifts while the latter's main rival Owen Robbins was a little further back in fourth ahead of Max Watt who survived a couple of moments to head home Corey Padgett and the Lupo of Alfie Campbell. James Hawkes meanwhile was sadly a non-starter and Lydden winner Caitlin May failed to race on Sunday after car issues in Round Three.

With Chris Wheeler's Fiesta sidelined after Round Three just three cars contested Sunday's **AVO Suspension UK**Modified races, Jonny Chrisp's Saxo winning the opening heat and Saturday victor Max Weatherly taking the other two. Chrisp sadly broke down at the start of the A Final and it was left to Weatherly to make it three A Finals out of four for the season, finishing well clear of the similar Swift of David Watt.

The Championship was happy and relieved to be back on Welsh soil (and tarmac) and now the drivers turn their attentions to Round Five back at Blyton Park.

Dave Goddard



















